It’s been more than a month I’m playing with MediaWiki. I have learned a lot of things.
In my last blog post, I had mentioned about running the MediaWiki instance locally. After spending some time I was able to configure Parsoid server successfully. The issue was MediaWiki parsoid developer setup configuration page had a different format of URI.

The good part is I have done all works which were there in my TODO list of last blog post. In fact, I have done more than that.

Now, I have good knowledge on how to setup MediaWiki locally and run VE (also configured with parsoid server). I can also help other if they face any issues.

VE
VisualEditor talks with Parsoid server to save the wiki page

I discussed with James Forrester regarding our extension and took some feedback from him. He pointed me to some of the hurdles which I would face while building Collaborative Editor extension.

The workflow of my extension is also done. Cristian helped me in designing the workflow of extension.

 

workflow
Workflow of extension

* I tried out different VE extensions just to get used to how extensions are build.
* VisualEditor provides a powerful API through which we can build our extensions on top of it.
* I tried out OO.ui to add an icon within VE so that user can enable collaboration by clicking on it.
* Now, I’m working on APIs listen to behavior of cursor inside the VE, so that all the changes made will be seen by others in real time.

 

One thought on “Collaborative Wiki Editor – WikiToLearn

Leave a comment