Collaborative Editor Extension for MediaWiki
The Google Summer of Code 2016 is coming to an end, just couple of days left.

The good thing is that I’m also almost done with my project and enjoying my free time. 🙂

I have published the screencast of how my project (Collaborative editor extension) works on my laptop.

YouTube : https://youtu.be/lf1Kg0gVIWk

I had built the extension on normal MediaWiki.
I tested it on my local instance of WikiToLearn i.e http://tuttorotto.biz (URL is accessible only if you are running its local instance)
It works good and as smooth as it was on MediaWiki.

The things I’ve planned to work on these final days are :

* Write good documentation. Since my project was bit complicated, I do feel it requires a good documentation on how does it work, how to use it and configuring it.

* It may need some tweaking on UI so as to match with the current skin of WikiToLearn. It would be easy, we can do it anytime but my focus is on get the collaborative editing work good.

* I’m curious to know how it would perform when we deploy it on staging or production server. I know WikiToLearn will be used by the huge number of people every day and hence it will have high traffic.

I’m also looking for any good tool to write my documentation. Maybe GitHub wiki, ReadTheDocs or a blog post would be fine I think.

Hope all these goes well. 🙂

Cheers!

[Edit]
Testing Rich Elements.

YouTube : https://youtu.be/T3KyDwNi_VM

2 thoughts on “One last step for completion of Google Summer of Code – KDE – WikiToLearn

  1. Hey!
    About the doc, why not having it (also?) directly in the repo, next to your code? A blog post, will really early be impossible to find. If it’s a mediawiki addon, the best place would be on the mediawiki website, next to the download page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

